top of page

My Top Fantasy “Movie” Men

Written October 2011


Darius Lovehall (Lorenz Tate)



If you have actually seen the movie “Love Jones” then no explanation is needed. To

those that haven’t, I’m sending you three virtual iCandi beat downs. Watch this movie ASAP (as a matter of fact it’s currently on demand and on Netflix). Darius was a poet who was working on his first book. He stole my heart during the very beginning of the movie when he dedicated a poem to Nina Mosley. The line that got me was “Right now I’m the blues in your left thigh, trying to become the funk in your right”! That just sounds good. Game recognizes game. Call me Darius!



(Love Jones)



Lance Sullivan (Morris Chestnut)



There is something very sexy and alluring about a man that loves the Lord. This playboy/football player is about to marry the love of his life. Some dark secrets come out and he’s really close to calling the wedding off. If you haven’t seen this movie, SHAME ON YOU! I won’t even spoil it but look at the picture. He let God lead him down the aisle. Very powerful moment.

(Best Man/Best Man Holiday)



2019 Update

After watching The Best Man Holiday I fell deeper in love with Lance. The love that this man showed for his ill wife was touching. Every woman should want to marry a Lance Sullivan.




Jason (Allen Payne)




Jason’s character meets the beautiful Lyric and he courts her (something that women these days know nothing about). The most romantic scene is their picnic in the park. Not only does he plan a romantic picnic for her, afterwards he washes her feet in the lake. YES I SAID IT, HE WASHES HER FEET! I love a man that isn’t scared to pamper a woman by rubbing her feet. A man that will massage the toes is alright with me!


(Jason’s Lyric)


Winston (Taye Diggs)



Sexy chocolate Jamaican sensation! Yes Lawd! Chocolate, Jamaican accent, abs for days, young “Tender Roni” that knew how to grind on the dance floor. All I know is if I am still single in my 40s I’m planning a trip to Jamaica to find myself a Winston!



(How Stella Got Her Groove Back)




Quincy McCall (Omar Epps)





Omar Omar Omar!! You did that! There is something special about your very first love. The first boy you’ve kissed, held hands with, the first one that you let...well you know what I’m talking about. Watching Quincy & Monica’s relationship blossom was definitely a treat. Through their ups and downs you got to see how true loves never dies and his line at the end of the movie “Double or Nothing” gave me goosebumps!!


(Love & Basketball)




Lucky (TuPac Shakur)



If you rocked with TuPac back in his prime then you saw this movie. It was definitely a hood love story. Lucky was a single father working at the post office trying to make it. His character had that “bad boy” swag that a lot of ladies can’t resist. I know I usually say I don’t do thugs but I would have taken Lucky any day...dirty nails and all!


(Poetic Justice)




Orlando (Shemar Moore)




Although I was VERY upset with Tyler Perry for putting my boo Shemar Moore in those funky cornrow braids, you couldn’t help but fall in love with the character. God fearing, hardworking, dedicated, & a provider. His character was the complete package and when he told Helen “I want to be your knight in shining armor. All you have to do is wake up, I’ll take it from there.” Every woman in the theater on opening night screamed in unison. Yes that man definitely deserved a spot on this list.


(Diary of A Mad Black Woman)




Scott McKnight (Common)


Scott is the true definition of a sweetheart. Although he had his gullible moments in the movie he was a true gentleman that (like myself) was a hopeless romantic. His character had me dreaming up my fairy tale story.


(Just Wright)


I know I’m not the only movie lover that lusts after the occasional leading movie man.

LADIES: email me and tell me who your fantasy men are (iCandipro@gmail.com) ~MsiCandi~

bottom of page