top of page

Jingle Jangle A Holiday Netflix Film




The Brooks household had been anticipating the release of the Netflix movie "Jingle Jangle" for a month and we were not disappointed. Anyone that knows me knows that I am a huge fan of living legend Phylicia Rashad. Mostly known for her role as Claire Huxtable on The Cosby Show, she has been my role model since I was five years old. Combining my childhood hero with my favorite time of year (Christmas) had me excited.






The movie was written and directed by David E. Talbert, who I knew from several stage plays and a few films. The movie is actually a musical that is centered around an inventor who was betrayed by his apprentice.


I am not going to give the movie away at all but I will say that it was refreshing to see a brand new Christmas story with actors, singers, and dancers that looked like me. We made a family night of it and I watched it with my daughter and my father. We all really enjoyed the movie, even my father who is a self-proclaimed movie critic.


Something that stood out to me was definitely the singing. Newcomer (to me anyway) Lisa Davina Phillip's voice was everything! This lady sang the mess out of her songs and I definitely felt the spirit of Christmas.





Another vocal highlight was none other than Aniki Noni Rose (who we know from "The Princess and the Frog" and "Dreamgirls"), who sang beautifully, which was no surprise.




They even got the legend himself Forest Whitaker to sing a couple of songs and, surprisingly, he didn't do bad.






Being that I am a Christmas girl and I love just about anything surrounding Christmas, I was bound to love this film. Being able to share the experience with my daughter was priceless. I definitely suggest you add this one to the list of favorite holiday classics to watch this Christmas season.



bottom of page